Tags

, , , , , , ,

cover_277Summary: Kvothe is a legend, both in his own mind and in reality. He’s retired though. Now he’s just an inn keeper known as Kote. That is until a scribe tracks him down to get his story. He starts at the beginning when he and his family are part of troupe of traveling performers. After the death of his family it’s a very round about story of seeking revenge and becoming a legend.

Review:I devoured the first book in a day or two. I literally could not stop reading. Kvothe, throughout the book, is an arrogant prat. He knows it though. Keep in mind that the story is being told by an older Kvothe. To me this makes him more standable, because at some point he becomes the stoic inn keeper that’s telling the story. Besides, even when he’s arrogant he’s always entertaining.
The world is so complete I can only imaging the planning that had to go into the 51kMp06sawLentire series. From Tarbean to Adem, the cultures are so vastly different and full of stories and legends and myths. The only thing missing is actual languages. There are different languages, but he never really shows them like Tolkien did. I don’t really hold this against him, but it would have been interesting to see the differences in the languages as well as the customs and cultures.
The characters are also believable and fantastic. From the ugly and mean to the friendly and beautiful. The characters have sound motivations and provide a diverse cast and world.
I will say that I have no idea where the story is heading but I also don’t mind much. I am enjoying the journey.

Rating: 5 out of 5 quills. What can I say? My only real complaint is that the third book isn’t out yet.

