Tags

, , , , , , ,

c0894e_b70cfe77f4ec4e1f89d85df5b8ce926f.jpg_srz_p_228_323_75_22_0.50_1.20_0.00_jpg_srzSummary: At the tender age of five Cass saw her parents murdered right before she was abducted. She spends the next eight years in isolation and silence and when finally her captors start to talk to her she wishes she could go back to the silence. When rescue comes it comes with more problems. Suddenly she’s in a place where her safety is still a question and she’s learning things about herself that no one even knew was possible. She’s a weaver, she chimera, and that’s just the beginning.

Review: This review will probably be a little short because I don’t want to give too much away. I’ll just start off by saying that I recommend this to anyone who likes Sci-fi or fantasy and especially to those who have a love a both.

Chimera by Vaun Murphrey starts off with our main character, Cass, in what almost seems to me like an asylum being constantly watched by a camera. No one has talked to her in eight years and she is seemingly holding on to sanity by a thread. Then it all changes. She wakes up to find that with what should be nothing more than a simple step in growing up has changed everything.

The story starts off quick and with a lot of action…well, not action but activity. Then it slows down and introduces a lot of characters and doesn’t really pick up again until the end. This might be a turn off for most people, but it really doesn’t bother me in a book that I know is the first of a series. To me it just means that there will be too much going on later to really get to know the characters who matter. And as far as set ups go, this was done pretty skillfully. I finished this book in a day so it definitely didn’t drag.

I also loved the characters the author wanted me to love, hated the ones I was supposed to hate, and was on the fence about the ones I was supposed to be unsure of. The best part of this was that it wasn’t because the author said “Hey!Like this character but hate this other one!” Murphrey was very good about getting you to feel by showing you through actions and dialogue (and not too much dialogue). The one character I was on the fence about at first and I’m not sure if I was supposed to be or not was Silver. Now I know that how I feel about her, but if I tell you it may be a spoiler and I’m striving not to ruin anything in the story.

This may be a little spoilery (I know that isn’t a word, but it’s Sunday and I woke up at 6 am so I’m letting myself slide) and I can’t figure out how to hide it so if you want to just skip the rest of this review. The end almost made me want to stop reading the series. Almost. We get to know and like and hate all of these characters and then in the last chapters everything blows up and all of the sudden she’s off to somewhere unknown with a character we don’t know at all. If I wasn’t just an overly curious person it might have put me off. But I’m glad it didn’t.

Rating: 4 out of 5 quills.

