Tags

, , , , ,

Even if you don’t read this whole post, I’d love it if you answered the questions at the bottom!
11008257_923596497662340_2109476761_nI figured now that I have a few reviews up and a really awesome interview with Vaun Murphrey it might be time to share a little bit about me. I may do some of those book tags from booktube, but I might save those for when I actually get my booktube channel up and running. For now I’ll just have a conversation with myself, but at the end of this post if there’s something you would like to know I would love for you to ask in the comments and I’ll do my best to answer. In the meantime, let’s get this going.
HI! I’m Lexi. I’m 25 years old and I live in Southside Virginia where I’m a waitress. Southside isn’t a town, but a region of Virginia that is south of the James River and North of North Carolina. I am somewhere in the middle of that.
Why am I blogging? Because I love to write and I love books and it seems to me that any forum that allows me to combine the two loves should be celebrated. Hence a book blog. Also, I want to share the books I love with other people who love books. I do want to point out that just because I may not like a book doesn’t mean that I think you shouldn’t read it if it sounds like it appeals to you. It means that it didn’t appeal to my particular tastes. This isn’t my first blog, but it is the first blog I have posted to with any kinds of consistency so I’m still figuring out my writing style.
I read everything except romance and erotica (there are exceptions to this though). I don’t think there’s anything wrong with those genres I just don’t enjoy them usually. I love epic fantasies like Kushiel’s Dart by Jacqueline Carey or The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss. I also have a love for steampunk and some sci-fi. I like historical fiction and alternative histories. I also really love urban fantasy.
I love Neil Gaiman. Like if I ever met him in person I’d promptly take a picture (for proof… my best friend also loves him), squeal like a girl in middle school might (I never did, but I’ve seen it done) and then faint. Or bombard him with questions. I ask a lot of questions. If I were a cat I would be dead…
On a less book related note:
-I grew up in Virginia but I’ve also lived in Washington State and Hawai’i. I’ve been to Oregon, South Dakota, Wisconsin, Minnesota, New York, New Hampshire, Maryland, North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, and Florida. Also, Jamaica, Mexico and the Cayman Islands. I can’t wait to keep traveling.
-I hate the word “Bae”
-I love cooking and especially baking.
-I got married at 18 to my high school sweetheart. I am getting divorced and it’s the best decision that was ever forced on me. I’m a lot stronger now.
-I rent a house from a horse rescue and I help take care of 8 horses right now, though the number changes.
-I have a five month old yellow lab mix named Walker who is frequently featured in 2015 March 154my instagram photos (my IG is lulabell1101)
-Besides reading and writing I also love photography, singing, and languages.
-Soon I want to try my hand at painting.
-I’m going to go back to school to become a linguist because obviously I’m in a long-term affair with words, language and everything related to them.
-I have 2 brothers and a sister. I’m the third oldest. I also have a couple of sisters who I have chosen to as my sisters. With that in mind, I have 3 blood nephews, a step-niece and a nephew from one of my non-blood sisters.
-My best friend lives in Wisconsin and even though it’s been 4 years since I’ve seen her in person we are still insanely close.
-I was in a coma when I was 8. I fell off a horse and wasn’t wearing a helmet. I fractured my skull and a helicopter had to take me to VCU. I woke up to the George of the Jungle theme song. My little brother was the only one in the room with me and his first words were “I hate you. You got to ride in a helicopter.” (He was five and didn’t understand death or comas. Give him a break. It’s a cute story.) ALWAYS WEAR A HELMET.
-I also write poetry. I don’t know if it’s any good, but I plan on participating in NaPoWriMo this April.
-I love Borderlands and Smite cause I’m a huge dork.
Like I said before, if there’s anything you want to know then just ask. If I can answer I will… unless you ask me something wildly inappropriate. Then I reserve the right to make up my own mind about whether or not I’ll answer.

Now the questions I have for you are:
-What’s something about you?
-What books do you think I should read?
-And who are your favorite authors?

And here’s a picture of a horse just because…

2015 March 194

