Tags

, , , , , ,

15822336Spoiler Warning!!! This is the third book in a series. If you haven’t read the first two books this may spoil them for you.

With Jasper feeling a bit distant after their trip to America and Griffin barely hiding his abilities from outsiders and appearing more ill by the day things are already a bit strange around the Duke of Greythorn’s household before Jack Dandy shows up for breakfast one morning. You know something has to be wrong when Jack is reporting possible crimes. The group decides to investigate, but before they really get the chance Emily is kidnapped throwing everything into a tailspin.
I love this book. I have been waiting for the chance to really get to know Emily. A redheaded spitfire with a gift for machinery and a soft spot for Sam, before The Girl with the Iron Touch that was pretty much all we knew about her. This books explores who she is, where she came from, and how every one feels about her. As such we watch not only Emily grow as a character but Sam and Finley too.
I feel like Griffin and Jasper were a bit absent from the book which was disappointing. Griffin showed up more and more towards the end but I feel like it was a bit like a place holder. He had to be there for the story to progress, but mostly just physically. The character I knew from the previous books just wasn’t there. This may have been intentional, given the circumstances and I may have been more forgiving if they had spent any time on Jasper.
After what happened in book two, I understand that Jasper needed some space, but I missed him. I feel like he would have been more present after Emily disappeared… no matter who showed up and said they needed his help. I mean Jasper tells Griffin that he forgives him, but it doesn’t really seem like it. It was just frustrating and I’m hoping it will be better resolved in the next book. (I know the next book is already published, but I have so many books on my TBR that I feel bad going out and buying books. I did last week, but that was a special occasion.)
So I loved the story, but I felt like two of the main characters were just shells of themselves throughout the story. There to move the plot forward, but not really themselves.

Rating: 3.5 quills out of 5.

