Tags

, , , , , , , ,

10874177Sophronia is horrible at being a lady. Too curious by far and god forbid you should see her curtsy. One day she is trying to eavesdrop on her mother and a peculiar guest when a series of mishaps and an odd conversation with said guest seals her fate. She is off to Mademoiselle Geraldine’s Finishing Academy for Young Ladies of Quality. What she expects is hour after hour of painful lessons on posture, curtsies, and which fork to use. What she gets is those lessons and lessons on which poison is appropriate for which occasion and how a lady should throw a knife.
Gail Carriger’s books are light and funny but at the same time they don’t ever make me feel like I am slacking off by reading something too easy. I loved her Parasol Protectorate series and was extremely excited to start this series. I just wish I had bought the entire series before I decided to try and go the whole summer without buying any more books. I already checked my local libraries. They don’t have any Gail Carriger books, which makes me extremely sad.
Any way, on to the review! Sophronia is an excellent character. She wants to stay at the school but can’t seem to stop breaking the rules. First, she isn’t supposed to have Bumbersnoot, but who can resist an adorable mechanimal who leaves little piles of ash everywhere? She breaks the rules, but it never seems unreasonable to me. I would have broken the rules too.
The characters are amazing. I love that Lord Maccon’s great-great-granddaughter is in attendance and has just as much oomph as Conall Maccon himself. I also love that we get to meet a young Genevieve. I loved her in the Parasol Protectorate as an adult and I adore her even more as a child. I think the characters were well written and suitably distractable. I love the idea of flyway men and picklemen. I think my favorite part of the entire novel is that there is the possibility of an interracial romance in the series. I love that Ms. Carriger doesn’t shy away from controversial relationships or topics. It’s refreshing to have it there and not be a big deal or even the central focus of the novel. It’s a side note and a wonderful one at that.

Rating:5 out of 5 quills. What else needs to be said? If you like the girly side of steampunk, this is definitely for you. If you don’t… I suggest trying it anyway.

