25133311

I recieved an ARC copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

The Faerie Tree is about a couple who finds each other after years and essentially a lifetime apart. Izzie and Robin were young and in love, but after a trip to the faerie tree one afternoon everything starts to go wrong. Robin runs away from his problems and Izzie moves on, gets married and has a family.
Years later, a newly widowed Izzie sees Robin on the street. He appears to be a vagabond. She can’t believe it, but still, she has to know.
This is how their journey to try again and reconcile their contradicting memories of their history together.

This book brought out mixed feelings in me. On the one hand, I loved Robin and all of his just right of being pagan mannerisms. His attitude through out is just pretty fantastic and understanding. Other than not being able to deal well with major losses in his life, the man is everything you want in a literary romantic interest.
On the other hand, I detested Izzie. She made her husband seem like an unfortunate circumstance of her life. She was a moody and unreasonable lush. I found almost no redeeming qualities about her. She constantly put Robin down. Had absolutely no interest in trying to communicate with him or her own daughter. And felt more like the story’s conflict personified rather than a character who had conflicts with in the story.
I am glad I read it. Outside of Izzie, I loved almost all of the characters and thoroughly enjoyed getting to know them. The writing style was also pleasurable. But to be perfectly honest and perhaps concise, I don’t ever see myself re-reading it or go out of my way to recommend it.

Rating: 3 out of 5 quills. Read it if it seems like what you would normally read.

