Tags

, , , , , , ,

cover76665-mediumEvelyn has no interest in marriage and even the dashing Mr. Kent can’t make her want to live up to society’s expectations. She’d much rather assist her beloved sister Rose in achieving her radical dream of becoming a doctor. But everything changes the night she meets Sebastian Braddock – not only is the reclusive gentleman both vexing and annoyingly attractive, he’s also quite possibly mad, and his interest in Rose is galling. So when Evelyn wakes up to discover that Rose has disappeared, she immediately suspects Sebastian.

But then she discovers that Sebastian’s strange tales of special powers are actually true, and that Rose’s kidnappers have worse in mind for her than simply ruining her reputation. Surrounded by secrets, lies, and unprecedented danger, Evelyn has no choice but to trust Sebastian, yet she can’t help but worry that Sebastian’s secrets are the most dangerous of all…

I loved this book and I sincerely hope it’s going to be the first in a series. It’s like X-men in the Victorian Era. My inner geek is freaking out. Okay Lexi, get it together and write a review now.

Evelyn is your typical Victorian heroine. Reluctant to fall into her role in society, the thorn in her mother’s side, and incredibly witty. Her sister is the Belle of the Ball. Or at least this is how the story starts. I was afraid it was just going to be another story of a girl refusing to bend to societal rules and everything working out in the end. Let me tell you, the author likes to keep you guessing. Who’s the true love interest? Mr. Braddock? Mr. Kent? What is Miss Lodge to Mr. Braddock?

My only thing I think could have been better is that I would have liked to have gotten to know Rose better. Whether before she got kidnapped or during the search. Evelyn’s worry and concern felt real, but I wish I’d had more of an emotional connection to Rose herself rather than just through Evelyn.

I want to say so much more, but the things I truly loved about this book would spoil it for others.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5 quills. If you love historical fiction, sci fi, steampunk or X-Men… I can’t recommend this book enough.

