Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

51u181hVmcL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_Beneath the streets of New York City live the Avicen, an ancient race of people with feathers for hair and magic running through their veins. Age-old enchantments keep them hidden from humans. All but one. Echo is a runaway pickpocket who survives by selling stolen treasures on the black market, and the Avicen are the only family she’s ever known.
Echo is clever and daring, and at times she can be brash, but above all else she’s fiercely loyal. So when a centuries-old war crests on the borders of her home, she decides it’s time to act.
Legend has it that there is a way to end the conflict once and for all: find the Firebird, a mythical entity believed to possess power the likes of which the world has never seen. It will be no easy task, though if life as a thief has taught Echo anything, it’s how to hunt down what she wants… and how to take it.
But some jobs aren’t as straightforward as they seem. And this one might just set the world on fire.
I got this book from Net Galley a while ago. By the time I got around to reading it I had forgotten what the blurb had said. I think that helped me go into it with no bias.
I love Echo. She’s a smart ass and kind of an anti-hero. She’s a thief and not a noble one. She’s also on the fringe of Avicen society. There are probably more who disapprove of her than who accept her into society. And it doesn’t get any better when she starts the journey to find the firebird.
I will say I’m not a fan of Echo’s romance with Rowan. Just felt like I saw the trouble there from the minute he entered. Her best friend, Ivy, was a mixed bag. I would like her one chapter and then the next chapter I was unsure.
What I loved most about this book was that it was more adventure than it was romance. And there was a suitable reason for the romance. I would love to talk more about it but it would be a huge spoiler so I’ll just hold it in.
Rating: 4.5 out 5 quills. The pacing was just a little odd for me, but turns out there is a sequel coming out in 2016 so it makes more sense. If you love urban fantasy, magic, thievery, and a witty main character, I would definitely suggest this book.

