Tags

, , , , , , ,

21414439Well… I had posts that I thought I had uploaded and scheduled for the holidays. I was wrong. I’ll be uploading them this week so I can start fresh in the New Year. I’ll start with Truthwitch by Susan Dennard.

Safiya and Iseult are best friends, partners, and threadsisters. They get into and out of trouble together, but when they accidentally attempt to rob a Guildmaster with a Bloodwitch in his employ they find that for once they may be in over their heads. For the first time since their friendship began they may be in over their heads.
With a bloodwitch, an emperor, and a religious zealot chasing them (not to mention the magical plague and a war between empires) they must run from home.

I didn’t get to read the entire book. I only got an extended preview from Net Galley. I find that this is the best worst decision I’ve made all year. I loved the preview and am already planning to pre-order the book in the next couple days. I just have to decide if I want the hard cover or the instant gratification of an ebook. The only part that makes this a bad decision is I have to wait to find out what happens.
I would say that this book is on par with Patrick Rothfuss’s Name of the Wind. It says it’s young adult but I feel like if you didn’t have that notion going into it you wouldn’t guess from the writing.
The world is set up beautifully and the characters are interesting and flawed. This is going to be a short review because I haven’t finished the book, but I will say that I am dying to. If you like fantasy and adventure, I recommend you pre-order this book like I will be.

