Tags

, , , , , , , ,

15724396Magnus Chase is homeless at 16. He’s been that way ever since the death of his mother 2 years ago. He has family, but his mother made him promise to stay away from his uncles before her especially untimely death and so he has for the last 2 years.
So it surprises him to learn one day that his uncle is looking for him. It isn’t long after that he dies, but that is just the beginning of his story.

So, I love this story. I haven’t read his two series between Percy Jackson and this one and I was afraid that I would feel as though I’d missed out on somethings, but instead it was just the opposite. The only thing that even alluded to the other series was Annabeth’s presence and even then you didn’t need to read the other series to make the her storyline make sense. It just makes it seem like a secret that you’ll learn about later in the series.
I love that the Gods are just extensions of people. These gods and goddesses were much more approachable than the pantheon in the Greek inspired Percy Jackson series. You meet at least 5 gods/goddesses in this first book. Most I had heard of but one I had not. So of course I had to google her. It’s always nice when a book inspires you to learn.
And I know I’m gushing, but the absolute best part of the series are the characters. The biggest part of this is that the main boy/girl duo don’t seem to be falling in love. That’s huge for me. I think that boy/girl friendships should be more common. JK Rowling almost did it in her Harry Potter series, but it’s splitting hairs when Hermione ends up with Ron in the end. That series may have been primarily about Harry, but I tend to think of it as being about the whole trio of friends. In Riordan’s book, the relationship between Magnus and Sam never seems to be romantic. Nor is it really a brother-sister relationship. They are genuinely just friends and it’s beautiful.

Rating:4.5 out of 5 No book is perfect and I remember that there were a couple of things I didn’t like, but when it was all over and done with I was wholly satisfied and impatient for the next book.

