Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Liza’s review isn’t quite finished yet so we’ve decided to swap places. Today you get something random but book related from me and on Friday she’ll post her review. I personally can’t wait.

January…

21414439I read Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. I had read and reviewed (here) an extended excerpt in December and was so interested that I preordered the hard back so that I would get a first edition. I was not disappointed. I absolutely loved it. I loved that the relationship that the story focused on was not a romantic one but the one between two best friends.The world building could be a bit better, but there are more novels to come and I think it was written so that little bits came out at a time. I completely recommend this to any fantasy lovers.

A Game of Thrones was the next book that I finished. This is the second time that I’ve read it. I will say that I liked it better this time. My major problem with the A Song of Ice and Fire Saga is that I dislike 90% of the characters and I only get to read about the characters I do like maybe 3 or 4 chapters in what amounts to almost a thousand pages. A friend of mine suggested that I watch the show first and then come back to the books. I’m going to see if this works.

February…

8835379I read the entire Precious Stone Trilogy (Ruby Red, Sapphire Blue, and Emerald Green) by Kerstin Gier. I’m a bit torn on the series. I loved the characters, but it feels like she forced it to be a trilogy. The whole story takes place in a few weeks. I just thought that if she had made the book a little bit longer it all could have been one or two books. Making it 3 makes me feel like it was a way to get more money. I will say that I devoured the books. The story was interesting and the characters delightful.

20698530I read P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han. I really wanted to write a review of this, but since I hadn’t written one on the first book and it’s been over a year since I read the first one I decided not to. I didn’t absolutely love this one, but I did enjoy it. I like that the first book didn’t end with a happily ever after high school relationship. There’s nothing wrong with those except that they are over represented. I loved that this series focuses on an interracial relationship. I like that it’s a cute and light read.

FangirlWIPFangirl by Rainbow Rowell… how have I never read a Rainbow Rowell novel before? It’s just… cute and adorable and it makes you think. I never thought I would relate so much to a fan fiction author (not because there’s anything wrong with being a fan fiction author, but because I’ve never written or read any fan fiction). The weirdest part though was that I’ve met a balding guy name Levi who was pretty goofy…so I couldn’t stop picturing him even though I only knew him for like a weekend.

March…

The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan … you can see my review here.

24885636Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, and Deborah Biancotti. Why haven’t I done a review of this? I think it got lost in the Chaos of my life. I’m not going to say much because I think I’m going to write a blog on it. I’m just going to say that I liked it for now.

 

Snakewood by Adrian Selby…you can find my review here. I should point out that my review may be a little harsh and I am already likely to dislike any book written in first person. It takes a lot to change my mind.

April…

And The Passage by Justin Cronin which was my review last week and you can find it here.

Next week is the Double Review of Choke by Chuck Palahniuk, where both Liza and I review a book together. I can’t wait to hear her opinion.

Don’t forget to come back for Liza’s review on Friday!!

 

End Note: You may notice that the first reviews I posted this year ( The Painted Maidens Trilogy and Uprooted)  are not on this list. While I posted the reviews in January, I had actually read them in the very end of December so they didn’t qualify for this list.

