Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

51xz7kT6THLGoodreads Blurb:

The story of a boy, a fox, and a lot of fanservice…

Kevin Swift has the worst luck with women. It’s not that he’s unattractive or even unpopular. He just can’t talk to them. He blames it on all of those shonen love comedies that he enjoys watching. Fortunately, or unfortunately—depending on who’s asking—Kevin’s love life is about to start looking up.

After saving a fox, Kevin discovers that he actually rescued a kitsune, a shape-shifter capable of transforming into a beautiful girl who appears to have popped right out of the pages to a shonen manga. Her name is Lilian, and she has decided that he is going to be her mate—whether he wants to be or not!

Between dealing with an overly amorous vixen’s zealous attempts at getting into his pants, his inability to talk to girls, and school, Kevin is going to have his hands full.

Review: A Fox’s Love is written almost like the novelization of an existing anime. I enjoyed it so much more when I imagined the characters as anime rather than live action. It made certain tropes funny rather than weird. Seriously, think of some of things you see in a romcom anime and then imagine it live action. It’s squiky.

The main character of this story is Kevin who is a shy do-gooder who has a crush on his female best friend. The most odd thing about him is his disabling fear of girls and his completely absent mother. Then one day he finds and injured fox with two tails outside of his job. He sneaks her home as per his do-gooder habits require and begins to treat her wounds before he notices that she is healing abnormally fast. A couple days later the fully healed fox becomes Lilian, a voluptuous girl with fox ears and two fox tails.

Let’s start with something I liked: Kevin. He seems a little plain at first, but he handles the supernatural extremely well and even though I wish he would be a little more… willing to stand up for himself, he never bends on the things that really matter to him. Mainly his own virtue. He and his best friend Eric are the personification of opposite ends of a spectrum. Kevin is polite, shy, smart and well-spoken. Eric is crass, loud, obnoxious and kinda gross. I like them both. I wouldn’t get along with Eric, but as a character he’s not only deplorable, but depicted as deplorable.

The only two problems I had were the pacing and Lilian. The pacing was a little slow and dawdling. I wasn’t sure that the story had an direction until the very end. That being said this is a common problem in the first book in a series which sets up a lot of relationships and atmosphere so that later books can be faster paced. I almost never really hold pacing in book one against the series. It’s kind of like the pilot episode of a tv series. It has to give you an idea of what to expect in the future while at the same time introducing all of the characters.

The other problem as I mentioned before was Lilian. I found the lead female almost completely unlikeable. She had funny bits, but even then I found myself routing for the childhood friend. Aside from being completely obnoxious and clingy, she also had no respect for her so called “Beloved.” She willfully hears what she wants to hear or flat out ignores him. The sexual harassment is surreal. He is constantly fighting off her advances. I hate when controlling, manipulative male characters are painted as romantic and I hate it just as much when it’s a woman. Let me be clear about one thing though, just because I don’t like one character (even a main character) does not mean I do not like the book. I just don’t like one character.

What I absolutely loved about the book was the fourth wall breaks. It took me a second to realize what was happening but once I did these easily became my favorite parts. They weren’t treated as asides, but the author and Lilian spoke to one another. Kevin can’t hear the author, but can hear Lilian. Seriously great.

I also truly loved that Kevin didn’t ditch his crush on Lindsey because of Lilian. In fact, even though he is no where near immune to her outlandishly good looks, he says no. He is the type of guy that every girl should look for. It is completely understandable that Lilian falls for him…even if she does it a touch to fast.

I have already order the second and fourth (I accidentally order the fourth book first. Silly me). I will be starting it here soon.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5. There is a lot of room to grow, but some of my favorite series start with much worse stories.

